2018 Pinotage Rosé Competition Winners Announced

2018 Perold /Absa Cape Blend winners announced
August 30, 2018
Duimpie Bayly honoured for outstanding contribution to Pinotage
September 4, 2018

2018 Pinotage Rosé Competition Winners Announced


The winners of the Pinotage Rosé Competition wines were announced during an award ceremony held at the Lanzerac Estate in Stellenbosch.  Most of South Africa’s major wine-producing areas were represented, with producers competing for the ‘Award of Excellence’  honouring the top three entries.

“We are thrilled with this exciting addition to the Pinotage competitions focusing on the different expressions of Pinotage,” said De Wet Viljoen, vice-chair of the Pinotage Association. He added that: “This year’s winning Rosé wines are fresh and of exceptional quality reiterating the vision to incorporate various wine styles and market stakeholders.”


The judging panel included wine experts Guy Webber (convener) , Johan Malan , Fred Viljoen, Susan Erasmus , Brad Gold and Jacques Roux of DGB



Asara Vineyard Collection  Pinotage Rosé 2018
WO Stellenbosch . Winemaker : Johan Joubert

Landskroon  Blanc de Noir Pinotage Off Dry Rosé 2018
WO Paarl. Winemaker: Michiel du Toit

Rooiberg Winery Pinotage Rosé 2018
WO Robertson. Winemaker: Andre Scriven

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

20 − fifteen =